S. Blake Ratcliff

Manager, High school students United with NASA to Create Hardware (HUNCH)
International Space Station Program Office
Lyndon B. Johnson Space Center
National Aeronautics and Space Administration

Mr. Ratcliff joined the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) and the Johnson Space Center in 1988 and has held numerous positions of increasing responsibility since that time. He is currently the manager of NASA’s HUNCH Program supporting the creation of flight, training, and communications products through a network of high schools and colleges throughout the United States. HUNCH supports Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math (STEM) activities in 24 states and over 140 schools. Products stem from a range a range of disciplines including, culinary, soft-goods, design and prototyping, hardware fabrication, and communications.

Prior to his current assignment, Mr. Ratcliff was the Manager for External Integration within the International Space Station (ISS) Program. In this capacity, he was responsible for negotiation and management of all international contracts, barters, and general agreements supporting the ISS Program. He has worked closely with representatives from both government and industry from Russia, Japan, Canada, and the European Space Agency, which consists of eleven member states throughout the European Union.

Additionally, Mr. Ratcliff managed the external interfaces for the ISS program consisting of communications with a variety of external groups including congressional staff, the General Accounting Office, the Office of the Inspector General, and other groups requiring information concerning the ISS Program. This also includes communications with the general public through education and outreach activities and the management of export control requirement in dealings with the ISS international partners.

Mr. Ratcliff is a native of the Houston area and a graduate of Texas State University. He has received numerous awards and accolades during his career with NASA and was selected in 2012 as one of five inductees as Distinguished Alumnus of Texas State University.